16
Nov
10

About what I am reading…

This was inspired by Bro. Lodriguez Murray, who in a recent email said, “Even though we (are) together rarely, I’m always impressed with what you say and how you say it. I find that with people who have a particular insight, there usually is a catalyst. So, that brings me to the question: What are you reading right now?

My response,“It is an honor to be considered in this way. Truly. I have had the habit of reading more than one book at a time. It may be an attention deficit, it may be the fact that I always feel behind and I need to read a couple of things at a time to be in more than one conversation, or it could be that even know I have 12 windows open on my browser…

…my current list..

I am reading the WAR of ART [Break through the Blocks and Win Your Inner Creative Battles]
This book was given to all of us at the Wondaland Arts Society after we hosted the Arrival of the Thrivals at The Idea Festival. Written by Steven Pressfield this book seeks to do exactly what the title suggests, and that is show readers how to identify and unlock their personal barriers to creativity.

The Dead Emcee Scrolls [The Lost Teachings of Hip-Hop]
I saw this one sitting on the coffee table of a friend during his 30th birthday party. I missed most of the party and was at Borders the next morning. After spending some calm and insightful moments with Bro. Saul in Paris this summer, I decided to be more diligent about my research before writing this next project. He gave me a host of things to research, but not his very own book. Humility I guess, but this one is worth the $13.95 so far.

The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran This one was given to me by our Tour Manager after he heard about a fatal illness that my aunt, now deceased, was battling. Many of you have read this as many times as you have read The Alchemist, but this is my first go ’round.

From Superman to Man by J.A. Rogers
Given to me by a prophyte for my birthday this past year, this piece is reminiscent of LeRoi Jones “The Dutchman”. I would tell you what it is about, but that is part of the fun of the ride [hint, hint]

0 Responses to “About what I am reading…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

I'm watchin you watchin

  • 157,112 views

Faux Toes on Flickr

My 2 Sense

New York Listening Party

23rd Annual MLK, Jr Awards Breakfast [Sen. Charlie Rangel]

More Photos

The Vault

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930