09
Sep
10

About the letter I got in my facebook inbox…

…I rarely check my facebook inbox. You feel me, because you don’t either. You browse, you see who sent the message, but if you don’t recognize them you put them off to another time when you’re not “so busy”.

Tonight was one of those times.

I just got a new phone that makes browsing the internet very easy, and as I sit in my London hotel room, I decided to clear out my inbox. The alerts make me feel a little neurotic. Inside of this inbox was one of the most inspiring messages I have received in a long time.

Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know I say “Even if nobody’s watching…” but man if it doesnt feel good to find out that not only was somebody watching, but that they were inspired by what they saw.

The following is the note I received:

Hey, um, thought you should know that I’ve just spent the last 2 hours of my life searching/stalking you on the internet (all because I picked up the latest copy of The Believer and heard your “Turn off the TV” track.) I know initially it might seem creepy but on the contrary; this message to you is a heartfelt thumbs-up. I know by hearing some of your other tracks that you’re interested in building an audience and maybe even knowing who they are, so here it is: I adooooooore everything I’ve heard and seen so far. Don’t stop doing it. You are inspiring me, big time, to write my heart out and create and communicate and connect and dream. I just wish I was half as damn erudite and eloquent.
So thanks, for all of that. And know you reached someone new today, due to the amazing and insidious wonders that are google/youtube/social networking. And McSweeney’s, of course.


p.s. I’m reposting your tracks like mad, too. I like to share 😉

1 Response to “About the letter I got in my facebook inbox…”


  1. September 9, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    Awww, that’s so sweet. I could tell you appreciate hearing from those who read or listen to your stuff. I remember when I first met you and told you I read your blog, your face lit up in genuine happiness and appreciation. I’m glad you’re finding more supporters, you do make good material (or I wouldn’t be featuring you next week ^.^)


Leave a Reply

I'm watchin you watchin

  • 157,284 views

Faux Toes on Flickr

The Vault

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

