12
Aug
10

About Stankonia studios circa 2004…

…I was working at Intermezzo at the time and driving dirty. One of my line brothers had given me a car for the remaining semester of my senior year. Mathematically that doesn’t make sense for someone who enrolled in 1999, and the registrar had me listed as graduating the semester before, but that was one of the things that made the difficulty level of getting out of Dear Old Morehouse greater than that of any HBCU.

I digress.

Nate and Scar were working on a song that Scar was to record for his project. I was familiar with the pair and their writing style, so I would often drive over to sit in on their sessions and throw out a rhyme or two, but mostly I was just there having a good time bringing great energy and some inspiring female company.

Well, one day during the recording, Scar and I noticed that Nate had added a new vamp to the track that sounded as though it should be talked, rapped, spit, or skat over. Nate turns to me and says, “Hop in the booth real quick and let’s see what happens.” One take later….we had the “Just Axe Me (remix)” and I had been bitten by the bug.

Enjoy.
-Two

Just Axe Me (Remix)-Scar Feat. George 2.0

***Turns out that this song was released on one of Chuck Lightning’s famous compilations for the Dark Tower project. [Chuck recently compiled some diddy’s for The Believer magazine] But aside from that compilation album, most people have never heard this record.

1 Response to “About Stankonia studios circa 2004…”


  1. 1 george a peters 1
    August 12, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    Would love to have heard “Just Axe Me” but it has the longest buffering process the world has ever known.


Leave a Reply

I'm watchin you watchin

  • 157,284 views

Faux Toes on Flickr

The Vault

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

