26
Apr
10

the following is for the closet Lauryn Hill fans:

So a friend of mine and I have been talking about (while trying to avoid talking about) our dear sweet Carmen Sandiego. Now, I’ll be the first to admit that I fell of waaaaaay back. I have spent the past few years watching the slow death of an obsession that was born out of repeated rewinding of Sister Act 2 on VHS after school.

I saw the same interviews you saw…and the costumes…heard the stories…etc, etc…and I wanted to forget about it the way I did the tabloid reports calling my hero, “Jacko”. But it was difficult, very difficult.

Then I heard some mixtapes, The Re-education of Lauryn Hill to be specific. Within these few songs, I heard something that felt familiar. That is not to say that I disrespected the growth I had been witnessing, but I had lost contact with the voice. [Out of laziness and lack of qualifiers all puns intended]

Then some pictures surfaced and my friend and I whispered some captions.

Then I saw a very clear, very lucid interview with Ms. Hill. She wore a growth as her main accessory in this video, but spoke with a voice that was, well, familiar.

Familiarize yourself below.

0 Responses to “the following is for the closet Lauryn Hill fans:”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

I'm watchin you watchin

  • 157,284 views

Faux Toes on Flickr

The Vault

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

