11
Apr
10

I am in graduate school

I haven’t written a personal blog in quite some time. I have gotten pretty used to not knowing who does or does not read my blog as it goes along quite nicely with my mantra (“Even if you weren’t watching, I’d be doing this anyway.”) But a few things have changed in recent months. One of them is my viewership, there are quite a few of you visiting this page every day and I am still not sure what it is that is drawing you here.

I have been on the road stage managing, hosting, filming, projecting, etc with The Janelle Monáe residency run. We just completed the formal part of the mini tour around the country by plane, tour bus, church van, and taxi cab. I have met some of the most phenomenal souls and energies throughout the last two months, but even more noteworthy has been the kind words from friends and acquaintances that I have known for years.

“George, you are doing so well. We always knew you would make it.”

What is so funny to me about that is that, in my mind, not only have I not made it, but most of those complementing me do not know what I “do”. I have been using the last three to four years of my life as a Graduate program. Every project you see me involved with is part of a running curriculum that I am blessed to have the opportunity to follow. While many of the projects are completed on the fly, with a laptop, and a program that I don’t really know yet, they each serve as proxy. Imagine being able to reference YOUR OWN WORK as you develop new ideas and strategy for new ideas. I have learned how to shoot film and video, edit film and video, perfected the art of hosting, delivered some of the most electric freestyles a street corner has ever hosted, and have become an expert in the program direction of New Media. And I’m still learning.

So in between the rendering of some secret behind the scenes footage that I am working on, I thought I’d gather my thoughts in front of you. I am getting closer to “making it”. I am getting closer to being able to describe what it is that I do. I am getting closer to becoming the person I was put on this planet to be.

I hope to see you all at my graduation.

TURN OFF THE TV

4 Responses to “I am in graduate school”


  1. 1 Taurean Dossett
    April 11, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    You are it… That is coming from ur Lil brother. God be with you! ~Mr it

  2. 2 KLG
    April 11, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    love this, George. see you at graduation.

  3. 3 Wolf
    April 12, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    !!! Boy you crazy !!!

    😀

  4. April 12, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    I’ll see you at the top.


Leave a Reply

I'm watchin you watchin

  • 157,283 views

Faux Toes on Flickr

The Vault

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930