28
Sep
09

I love interracial couples

black and whiteI really do. A woman who I spend a lot of time with (who happens to be Black) laughs at me every time we pass by an interracial couple. She knows I am staring, and not in the way that David Duke or Glenn Beck would stare. I stare with a smile on my face the way people look at happy babies. I love interracial couples. I love to see them walking down the street holding hands and in their own world. I love to imagine their victories over all the would be obstacles that they might face. I love to imagine that their love allows them to ignore others hate. I love that their love makes them want to be together.

-2.0

*Writer’s note: This is not to say that I don’t think same race couples have obstacles and haters, or that their love doesn’t make them want to be together. Clearly it does.

7 Responses to “I love interracial couples”


  1. 1 Joe.From.Dallas
    September 28, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    I’d have to agree. I was going to be more profound, but you’ve said it best.

  2. 2 Kimmy Ra
    September 29, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    I love this. I really really love this post. I always say that at the end of the day people should be brought together by love and stay together based off of their abilities to triumph together. It shouldn’t matter what color the two are if love and triumph are the foundation.

  3. September 30, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Aw, I, too, love interracial couples. 🙂 Don’t know why this seeing this surprised me a bit. But certainly enjoyed this post. Sweet photo too.

    p.s. Am I the only one who thinks there offspring are extra adorable? Just sayin.

  4. October 1, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    I love this post because I too love interracial couples. I never understand when people of any race get angry when they see “one of their own” with another. Being from up North I never experienced the interracial haters until I moved to the south. While on a date with a white guy (now one of my best friends), a black man approached me and asked “damn, is it that hard to find a good black man?” I have also heard comments such as: “He must have money” and “Damn why the pretty ones always betray us”. I found them all to be funny, not insulting. Their ignorance shouldn’t ruin my day, right?

    5 of my 10 nieces and nephews are black and Italian (white). My mother is also mixed with everything (as most of us are now). So George, I too love interracial couples!

  5. 5 sumptinew
    May 15, 2010 at 10:05 am

    Great stuff. Check us out on the “Weddington Adventures” where we showcase our interracial adventures in the windy city of Chicago. Feel free to share. Be easy:)

  6. October 6, 2010 at 12:28 am

    I came upon this by accident and it made me smile that same smile. And I’m in an interracial relationship! We haven’t run into too much of the negativity regarding dating outside our races, but perhaps that’s because we don’t take time to listen for it. We’re deeply in love and blissfully happy!
    I also have a daughter from a past interracial relationship and I have to agree – she is extra adorable! For her sake, I thank every single person who feels as you do. What a beautiful place the world will be for her with people like this in it!

  7. 7 Tabitha chris
    March 8, 2011 at 5:31 am

    I absolutely love seeing inter-racial couples together.They look sooooo good and amazing.I also stare at them a lot with a huge smile on my face.Their kids have angelic faces and beautiful curly hair.I just love them.


Leave a Reply

I'm watchin you watchin

  • 157,207 views

Faux Toes on Flickr

The Vault

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

