17
Sep
09

drinks that every man should enjoy.

Last night I walked over to Harlem’s own 67 Orange Nice spot. You know how those holes in the wall with no name look? This is that kind of place…on the outside. But once you open the door the sounds of post bebop begin to speak easy conversation into your ears and whet your whistle for one of their specialty cocktails. The first on the menu was an “Ol Fahionista”. I’ll let them explain that to you, but as a heads up, here is a recipe for a cocktail myself and @lavvocato seem to enjoy these day and nights.

oldfashionedTHE OLD FASHIONED
(shouts to Benny Walk)

*2 oz bourbon whiskey (I like Woodford Reserve)
*2 dashes Angostura® bitters
*1 splash water
*1 tsp sugar
*1 maraschino cherry
*1 orange wedge

Glass Type I would go with a rock’s glass. Now, I would be lying if I said we haven’t muddled our cherries in a red solo cup, but there is something that makes you feel better about your spirits (#punswild) if you have some weight to your glass. Try it. Trust it.

Instructions
Mix sugar, water and angostura bitters in an old-fashioned glass. Drop in a cherry and an orange wedge. Muddle into a paste using a muddler or the back end of a spoon. Pour in bourbon, fill with ice cubes, and stir.

“But on last night”…they didn’t have any Woodford. So I let Karl’s barman talk me into a Brown Derby and I am glad that I did. You’ll be glad I did as well.

BROWN DERBY
derby
* 2 ounces dark rum
* 1 ounce lime juice
* 1 teaspoon maple sugar

Glass Type: cocktail glass (although I prefer the short cocktail glass. The only stems I like are for wine and on women)

Instructions
Shake the rum,* fresh-squeezed lime juice, and maple sugar* well with cracked ice, then strain into a chilled cocktail glass. Oh yeah, that other Brown Derby? Jigger of bourbon, half-jigger of grapefruit juice, teaspoon or so of honey (stir ’em all together before you add the ice). Let me know how it turns out.

* Jamaican or Bermudan work best, sez us. Medford if you’ve got it — and if you do, give us a call, won’t you?
** Maple syrup’s a lot cheaper and works just as well. (I had honey syrup and that was rather diffident)

As we Fall into the Autumn we, gentleman need a drink that not only makes us feel good, but makes us look good. Step out on a ledge, try something new. After all we know what Hennessy can do to your reputation.

Cheers!
2.0

Oh and here is the 2.0 tip of the day. Register for Dewars Discovery I hear you get mixing lessons and a free flask!

1 Response to “drinks that every man should enjoy.”


  1. 1 MzBe
    September 17, 2009 at 10:49 am

    I just can’t see you rocking that martini glass….just can’t see it.


Leave a Reply

I'm watchin you watchin

  • 157,305 views

Faux Toes on Flickr

The Vault

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930